The Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards, which celebrates and rewards the very best of programmes and performances of 2017 were held on May 13th at the Royal Festival Hall, London.

The evening was  hosted by Sue Perkins and presenters included: Anita Rani, Ashley Walters, Bradley Walsh, Clare Balding, Claudia Winkleman, Dermot O’Leary, Emma Willis, Greg Davies, Jodie Whittaker, Joely Richardson, John Bishop, Martin Freeman, Michelle Keegan, Sir Mo Farah, Nish Kumar, Noel Clarke, Ore Oduba, Victoria Derbyshire and Wunmi Mosaku.

The BAFTA for Leading Actress was awarded to another BAFTA Breakthrough Brit, Molly Windsor, for her performance in Three Girls. The drama also won Mini-Series, adding to the three BAFTAs it won at the British Academy Television Craft Awards in April.

Sean Bean won the BAFTA for Leading Actor for his portrayal of a priest at the centre of a troubled community, in the drama series Broken.

The Special Award was presented to John Motson OBE in recognition of his outstanding contribution to sports broadcasting. Motson leaves the BBC today at the end of a 50 year career.

The Fellowship, the highest accolade the Academy bestows, was presented to Kate Adie OBE. A truly groundbreaking news journalist, Adie is one of a very small number of women to have reported from hostile environments around the world.

Virgin TV’s Must-See Moment, the only award voted for by the public, was won by Blue Planet II for the “Mother Pilot Whale Grieves” moment.

< Show All Work